Week 45 – Matthijs de Mari – Entrepreneurship and Networks – Assignment 2

Week 45 – Matthijs de Mari – Entrepreneurship and Networks – Assignment 2

Hi readers!

This week we had to show our Facebook network using the application TouchGraph. TouchGraph show all people that are connected to you on Facebook and organizes them in different clusters which they are linked too.

facebook_netwerk

As you can see in my Facebook network graph above there are two clusters which are obvious, the light blue with purple cluster and the lime green with orange cluster. The light blue with purple cluster is all the people I know from my high school in Berlin, where the light blue is all the people I have on Facebook from my own year/grade, and the purple are all the people I have on Facebook and know from the year/grade below. The lime green with orange cluster are the people I have on Facebook and I know from the VU. Most of the lime green connections seem to be from the same study as mine (Information Science) and the rest are people from different studies. The smaller orange cluster is made up of friends that I know through a very good friend of mine, but I’m not really connected to them much anymore.

The bigger two clusters are separated this far because none of the people of the VU know the people of my old school. This is due to my high school being in Berlin and the VU being in the Netherlands, so it will be unlikely that people from the two different clusters know each other. Most people of my high school cluster now live in different countries but it seems that they are still very much in contact with one another. And the friends of my friend is disconnected because I don’t have much contact anymore with them and no one else in my network knows them.

If I was an entrepreneur starting up a web shop I would find most help in the VU cluster. Since I’m doing information science and I have contact with a few computer science students, they could help me set up the web shop. People from the high school cluster are well connected and could provide me with good resources and legitimacy. In the high school cluster and VU cluster I act as a tertius gaudens, because I’m not really connecting any people but I do get information back from them.

After revisualizing the network in a pyramid layout view, I notice that my brother and sister move up a lot, with friends that I’m in contact with often and that the not largely connected nodes drop to the bottom.

See you next week!

Matthijs de Mari

Leave a Reply

