Rayendall Bitorina, Entrepreneurship and Networks, Assignment 2, week 45

Rayendall Bitorina, Entrepreneurship and Networks, Assignment 2, week 45

Hi!

In this weeks assignment we had to explore our network via Touchgraph, an app on Facebook that shows/visualizes our network by organizing our Facebook friends. If we look at the map, we see that we can point out 3 groups because they are not connected to each other. For example you see the light orange cluster at the top, those are the people I met at the VU and so they are not connected with the blue and red group (people from my hometown). The green cluster at the right are my family that are living in Curacao, in that way they are not connected with other clusters. The orange group at the left are people I met during my time playing football at SV Huizen last year. There is little connectivity between them and the other clusters.

 

TouchGraph_Photos-3

 

 

The reason I chose these clusters is because I met these people all in different places/locations. Curacao, VU and Huizen, in that way they are not connected to each other.

But if I was an entrepreneur opening up a retail shop, there are definitely opportunities in these clusters, because of the different locations not only in my hometown Soest (red and blue cluster) they will know about my shop but also in Huizen and in the region of Amsterdam. My family in Curacao is not that relevant in this case, but they can give me support. The people of my study can provide me with knowledge, because their educational level. The people I met during my time in Huizen are people that are in the age between 21-35, they can help me by share their experiences with me, so I can learn from them. For resources I might be looking in my hometown (blue/red) but for the expanding the business these 3 unconnected clusters offer enough possibilities.

If I look at the study cluster and the cluster of my football  I only have a tertius gaudens role . There is no need for them to connect. Maybe this could change in the future, that i can connect the people of my study with the people from work or other clusters. So that they can help or contact each other in the future.

When I visualize my Facebook network in a pyramid layout, the alters in the upper levels are the people that are the closest to me and those I have the most mutual friends with! These people come mostly out of my hometown (blue/red cluster).

Rayendall Bitorina, 2525524

 

Leave a Reply

